Streets : Javon Floyd

Streets!

TOD: Feel free to introduce yourself.

JF: What’s goodie!? My name is Javon Floyd aka Mr. Pink (no relation to the All-City Frame) or just JAY. 32 years young, is what old people say. Born and raised in Clinton Hills, Brooklyn.

wpid-mg_7217.jpg

TOD: How long have you been riding?

JF: I’ve been riding bikes for practically my whole life. I started to ride fixed in 06′ after I got tired of riding my 24′ BMX, I was in need of a larger bike that was simple and was introduced to track bikes.

TOD: Does your work day consist of riding a bike? (Feel free to mention what you do or if you are a student.)

JF: Most days my work does consist of riding my bike. I work at a Digital Photo Lab doing photo retouching and laminating, so there are days where I have to bring customers their art work.

wpid-mg_7235.jpg

TOD:  What type of bike are you riding?

JF: 98′ GT GTB. It’s my second one, after I sold my first GTB that was a bit too small for me. Currently on Miche Pistards, Miche Advanced Cranks paired with 44rn 47t chainring, Thomson Post and Collar, OG Flite Saddle, Campy Headset, Factory 5 Fork, Nitto Jaguar stem, Easton Monkey Lite bars & my favorite Time ATAC pedals.

TOD: What’s your take on riding in NYC?

JF: My take on it, is absolute fun. It’s always something new to discover while riding a bike. If it’s not people, it’s places, things, new pot-holes more humans to dodge because their not paying attention while crossing the street. The adrenaline in NYC is something else. It’s a addictive, that’s what I love riding here.

wpid-mg_7210.jpg

TOD: Can you explain your most memorable experience while riding in NYC

JF: My most memorable and absolutely ridiculous memory, it had to be while riding up Bedford and Myrtle Ave.I was clipped by taxi, I did a tuck and roll off my bike (or thrown off) Furious and cursing the driver out, I checked on my bike, it was “fine”. The driver asked was I okay and offered me $100. Of course I took the money and mentally made plans to go drinking with it that night. We hugged it out, yes you read correctly hugged it out lol. Made it home, made an attempt to go out but, I couldn’t because I end up having a sprained ankle

TOD: Aside from cycling, do you have any other hobbies?

JF: When I’m not cycling, I’m reading a book or trying to go to as many art galleries during my lunch break as possible. Exercise both the body and mind.

wpid-mg_7240.jpg

TOD: Finish this sentence – If I never rode a bike, I would………

JF: Likely be a lazy unfit bum. Most definitely wouldn’t have meet the amazing people and places I have along my rides. I’m glad I picked up a bike and cherished it.

wpid-mg_7160-1.jpg

Follow Javon on Instagram @Monsieurrose

Leave a Reply

